[map of Argentina] Republic occupying the southeastern portion of South America; area, 1,153,119 square miles. Christianity was introduced by the Spanish explorers in the 16th century, and today Catholicism is the established religion, required for the presidency, though freedom of worship is granted by the constitution to all others. Ecclesiastical appointments are subject to the approval of the state, which provides a subsidy for clergy and churches. The civil marriage ceremony, established in 1888, is obligatory.

Ecclesiastically the country is governed by the archdioceses of the dioceses of and the territorial prelatures of Other episcopal governing designations include See also
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author