Canons Regular of Saint Augustine

Canons Regular of Saint Augustine are divided into two congregations: the Congregation of Saint Augustine, Saint Bernard, and Saint Nicholas, and that of the Abbey Nullius of Agaunum. The former, established by Saint Bernard of Menthon, c.1004, is in charge of the hospices of Great Saint Bernard and Simplon. An agricultural school, a tuberculosis sanatorium, and parochial duties also engage the canons. Since the 12th century the Abbey Nullius of Saint Maurice of Agaunum, the oldest monastery in the world, has been under the care of the canons regular, who engage in teaching and parochial duties. See also canons and canoesses regular.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author