Western Vicariate Apostolic of Cape of Good Hope, Union of South Africa

(British possession); established, 1837. Vicars Apostolic: Patrick Griffith (1837-1862), Thomas Grimley (1862-1871), John Leonard (1872-1909), John Rooney (1909-1925), Bernard O'Riley (1926); residence at Cape Town. Churches and chapels, 35; priests, secular, 25; priests, regular, 9; schools, 31; Catholics, 16,500.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author