diocese of Cochin, India

Founded on 4 February 1557 by Pope Paul IV. Suffragan of the archdiocese of Verapoly. Franciscan missionaries under Father Henry de Coimbra arrived in Cochin in 1500. Pioneer missionaries included Saint Francis Xavier, the Franciscans Jaão d'Elvas and Pedro d'Amarante, and Father Manuel de San Mathias with eleven companions. The Dominican missionary, Jorge Themudo, was first bishop.
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author