Commissariat of the Holy Land

The territory or district assigned to a commissary of the Friars Minor for the purpose of collecting alms for the maintenance of the Holy Places in Palestine; also, the convent where the aforesaid commissary resides. Annual collections for the Holy Land, taken up in each diocese of a commissariat, are conveyed through the commissary to Jerusalem. There are 40 commissariats throughout the Christian world, seven in English-speaking countries; in the United States one is established at Mount Saint Sepulcher, Washington, DC.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author