Congregation of the Blessed Sacrament

An enclosed congregation of nuns, a reform of the Dominican Order, founded in France by Father Anthony Le Quieu, for the perpetual adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. The first house was opened at Marseilles, 1659; another at Bollene shortly afterwards. Marseilles, the original mother-house, was suppressed during the French Revolution, when the nuns were dispersed, but was reopened, 1816; the Bollene house also suffered, but resumed activities, 1802. Some of the Bollene nuns founded a house at Cannington, England, 1863, which was later moved to Taunton, Somersetshire, where it still stands. Convents of the Congregation are situated at Oxford, and near Newport, England; in Normandy and in the south of France; and at Hal, Belgium.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author