diocese of Cairns, Australia

Comprises the northern part of Queensland, Australia. Established in 1876 as the Vicariate Apostolic of Queensland, and entrusted to the Hermits of Saint Augustine of Ireland. The name was changed was changed to the Vicariate Apostolic of Cooktown on 10 May 1887. Elevated to the diocese of Cairns on 8 July 1941. See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author