[map of the Czech Republic] Independent republic of central Europe comprising Ruthenia and Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia, and Slovakia which had prior to 1918 formed part of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy; area, 54,207 square miles; majority of the population are Catholics. Christianity was probably introduced as early as the 4th century, but disappeared upon the invasions of the Huns and Avars. Saints Cyril and Methodius were successful in evangelizing the country in the 8th century, and in 845 fourteen Czech princes were baptized at the court of Louis the German at Ratisbon. In the 15th century, internal dissension was caused by the preaching of John Hus and Jerome of Prague, and the controversy between the Utraquists, who insisted upon Communion under two forms, and the Orthodox became a national issue in the Hussite Wars between Czech and German. By the Treaty of Saint Germain (1919) freedom of worship is granted to all religions not opposed to public order or morals. Racial and religious minorities enjoy the same rights and protection from the government as the predominating Catholic Slavs. In January, 1920, a small group of the clergy established a national Czechoslovak Church and its adherents were excommunicated by the pope. Confusion in doctrine and discipline ensued and they sought union with the Serbian Orthodox Church. [map of Slovakia]

Archdioceses, past and present, include Dioceses, past and present, include: Other ecclesiastical divisions include: See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author