Eastern Churches

All ancient churches which were originally under the jurisdiction of one of the four great Eastern patriarchates of Alexandria, Antioch, Constantinople, and Jerusalem. They comprise numerous bodies in eastern Europe and Asia and a few divisions, the result of immigration, in America, Africa, and other parts of the world. They are divided into Uniats of which there are nine groups, all united to Rome, and non-Uniats consisting of eight groups of churches which have long been separated from Rome as a result of the Eastern schisms and heresies.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author