[map of Ecuador] Independent republic in the northwestern part of South America. The kingdom of the Quitus had existed for perhaps a thousand years when conquered by the Peruvians in 1460. It was seized by Spain in 1533. Soon after the discovery of Ecuador in 1525, Dominican missionaries arrived, and the See of Quito was erected in 1545. The Jesuits later joined in the labors, and Christianity spread through the country, but after the expulsion of the Jesuits in 1767 and the subsequent revolution, the natives relapsed into paganism. Independence from Spain was achieved in 1822, and Ecuador, was separated from New Granada and Venezuela and established as a republic in 1830. Freedom of worship is granted to all and there is no official religion.

Archdioceses, past and present, include Dioceses, past and present, include: Vicarates Apostolic include: Other ecclesiastical divisions include: Saint and beati with an Ecuadoran connection include See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author