diocese of Elphin, Ireland

Founded by Saint Patrick in the first half of the 5th century; comprises a large portion of Roscommon, Sligo, and Galway; suffragan of Tuam. Beautiful examples of Celtic art were produced in the school founded by Saint Assicus, first bishop. Of interest are Ratherroghan, the palace of the Connaught kings, the Kings' Burial Place, and the well of Ogulla, or the Virgin Monument. Early bishops include Bron of Killaspugbrone, another disciple of Saint Patrick. See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author