Catholic Orders of Foresters

Three fraternal insurance societies organized on the plan of the Foresters' courts:
  1. established in Massachusetts, 1879, with membership confined to the state, and one court at Providence, Rhode Island;

  2. established in Chicago, 1883, and extending into 26 states and Canada, with an official organ "The Catholic Forester," published at Milwaukee;

  3. for women only, established in Chicago, 1892.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author