diocese of Tarawa and Nauru

Established as the vicariate apoostlic of Gilbert Islands, Micronesia, Pacific Ocean. Comprised the Gilbert and Ellice Groups, Ocean Island, and Nauru; established, 1888; entrusted to the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. Elevated to the diocese of Tarawa on 21 June 1966, and now known as the diocese of Tarawa and Nauru.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author