diocese of Baie-Comeau, Quebec

Comprised the northeastern part of the Province of Quebec, east of the diocese of Chicoutimi. Prefecture Apostolic erected 29 May 1882; suffragan of Quebec; all residences and missions situated in Saguenay County. Elevated to a vicariate Apostolic on 12 September 1905. Elevated to the diocese of Golfe St-Laurent on 24 November 1945; suffragan of Rimouski. Name changed to the diocese of Hauterive on 29 February 1960. Name changed to the diocese of Baie-Comeau on 14 July 1986. See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author