archdiocese of Halifax, Nova Scotia

[basilica of Saint Mary, archdiocese of Halifax] Comprises all but three counties of Nova Scotia proper, and the Bermuda Islands. Establised as the Vicariate Apostolic of Nova Scotia on 4 July 1817. Elevated to the diocese of Halifax on 15 February 1842. Elevated to the archdiocese on 4 May 1852. Suffragans dioceses include See also
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author