[map of Hungary] Independent kingdom of central Europe, bounded north by Czechoslovakia, Poland, and Ukraine, east by Rumania and Ukraine, south by Yugoslavia, west by Austria. Christianity was introduced into the region in the 8th century when the greater part of Hungary was included in the Diocese of Esztergom, raised to metropolitan rank by Saint Stephen (c.1000-1038), first King of Hungary, under whom the country was converted to Catholicism and the Church organized. It was placed under the patronage of Saint Adalbert, Bishop of Prague and martyr, who had converted the royal family and evangelized the country. In the 16th century Hungary was overrun by the Turks, Church discipline became lax, and Protestantism gained a strong footing. Peter Pazmany, greatest of the archbishops of Esztergom (1616-1637) checked the decline of the Catholic faith and brought about a counter-reformation with ecclesiastical reorganization, after which the Church continued to recover strength, assisted by the Habsburgs until the time of Joseph II (1780-1790). The country remained part of Austria-Hungary until the fall of that empire in 1918, when it was reestablished as an independent monarchy. All religions recognized by law, including the Catholic, Greek Orthodox, Evangelical, Unitarian, Baptist, and Jewish, enjoy equality and each manages its own affairs. Hungary is represented at the Holy See by an envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary, and a nuncio resides in Budapest.

Archdioceses, past and present, include Dioceses, past and present, include: Other ecclesiastical divisions include: See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author