Institute of the Holy Family; Sisters of the Holy Family of Bordeaux

Founded in 1820 by the Abbe Pierre Noailles at Bordeaux under the name of Sisters of Loreto. The Institute consists of different congregations, each with its distinctive work, garb, and particular rules, but all under a common constitution and directed by the Superior General of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, assisted by a Directress General. The seven distinct branches of the association are:
  1. Sisters of the Holy Family proper, or Solitary Sisters, devoted to contemplation
  2. Sisters of Saint Joseph, in charge of orphanages
  3. Sisters of Loreto, conducting private day schools and boarding schools
  4. Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, educational and nursing
  5. Sisters of Hope, care of the sick
  6. Field Sisters, maintaining agricultural orphanages
  7. Sisters of Saint Martha, the lay sisters of the above congregations
The Institute has over 200 houses, in France, England, Italy, Spain, Ceylon, India, South Africa, Canada, the United States, and South America. The mother-house is at Bordeaux.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author