Kingdom of Israel

[map of the kingdom of Israel] Formed by the ten tribes which seceded from Roboam, the son of Solomon (c.929 BC). Its history is one continuous warfare. Internal disturbances were frequent; Juda and Syria were a constant menace; finally Assyria invaded the kingdom and destroyed it, after capturing the capital Samaria, B.C. 722 (4 Kings 17). It is sometimes called the Kingdom of Ephraim or the Northern Kingdom. List of kings: Jeroboam, Nadab, Baasa, Ela, Zambri, Amri, Achab, Ochozias, Joram, Jehu, Joachaz, Joas, Jeroboam II, Zacharias, Sellum, Manahem, Phaceia, Phacee, Osee.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author