diocese of Jaffna, Sri Lanka

Comprises the Northern and the North Central provinces, excepting the Tamankaduwa division. In 1548 Saint Francis Xavier sought relief for the Christians of Jaffna from the persecutions of the king of that city. Erected on 17 February 1845 as the Vicariate Apostolic of Jaffna. Elevated to the diocese of Jaffna on 1 September 1886; suffragan of Colombo. See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author