diocese of Islamabad-Rawalpindi, Pakistan

Established 6 July 1887 as the apostolic prefecture of Kafiristan and Kashmir, British India, entrusted to Saint Joseph's Society of Mill Hill. Elevated to the diocese of Rawalpindi on 10 July 1947. Name changed to the diocese of Islamabad-Rawalpindi, Pakistan on 1 June 1979. It comprises the Rawalpindi Division, the Sargodha Division, the whole North West Frontier Province, the FATA (Federal Administrated Tribal Areas), the Azad Kashmir and the Northern Areas, Gujrat District of Gujranwala Division. Suffragen of the archdiocese of Lahore.
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author