Lateran Councils

A series of five important aecumenical councils held at Rome from the 12th to the 16th centuries in the Lateran Palace and Basilica, which was the residence and cathedral of the pope. They are known as the First (1123), the Second (1139), the Third (1179), the Fourth (1215), and the Fifth (1512-1517) Lateran Councils.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author