archdiocese of Songea, Tanzania

Erected as the Prefecture Apostolic of Lindi, East Africa, Tanganyika Territory on 12 November 1913 under the jurisdiction of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples. Erected as the diocese of Lindi on 15 December 1927. Some territory was lost and the name changed to the Territorial Abbey of Peramiho on 23 December 1931. Name changed to the diocese of Songea on 6 February 1969. Elevated to the archdiocese of Songea on 18 November 1987. See also:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author