diocese of Witbank, South Africa

Established as the Prefecture Apostolic of Lydenburg, Transvaal, Union of South Africa on 12 June 1923. Entrusted to the German Sons of the Sacred Heart. Elevated to the Vicariate Apostolic of Lydenburg on 9 December 1948. Elevated to the diocese of Lydenburg on 11 January 1951. Name changed to the diocese of Lydenburg-Witbank on 13 September 1964. Name changed to the diocese of Witbank on 10 November 1987. Suffragen of the archdiocese of Pretoria. See also:

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author