diocese of Menevia, Wales

Comprises The City and County of Swansea, the County Borough of Neath Port Talbot, the Counties of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire and the Borough of Brecknock and the District of Radnor in the County of Powys in Wales. Founded as the vicariate apostolic of Wales in 1895. Elevated to the diocese of Menevia on 12 May 1898 as a suffragan of the archdiocese of Cardiff. It restores the ancient diocese of Saint David's dating from the 6th century.
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author