[map of Morocco] Constitutional monarchy on the northwestern coast of Africa. In 1219 five of the earliest disciples of Saint Francis of Assisi, Saints Berard of Carbio, Peter de Sangeminiano, Accuriius, Otho, and Adjutus, were missionaries to this region; they and seven others sent later were tortured and beheaded. Franciscans and Dominicans continued to labor there, and c.1234 the See of Morocco was erected. In the 15th century there were bishoprics also at Ceuta and Tangier. Today the country is almost entirely Muslim with only about 1% of the population being Christian or Jewish. Ecclesiastically, the country is governed from two archdioceses, See also,
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author