diocese of Mysore, India

Cmprises the districts of Mysore, Mandya, Coorg and Chamarajanagara. Founded as a Vicariate Apostolic in 1850. Elevated on 1 September 1886 to a diocese, suffragan of the archdiocese of Pondicherry; entrusted to the Society of Foreign Missions of Paris, and the diocesan clergy. The Abbe Jean Dubois labored there. Suffragen of the archdiocese of Bangalore. See also,
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author