archdiocese of Nagpur, India

Comprises the districts of Nagpur and Bhandara in Maharashtra state, and the districts of Betul, Chhindwara, Seoni (except the tehsil of Lakhnadon) and Balaghat in Madhya Pradesh. Founded on 11 July 1887 by division from the diocese of Vizagapatam as a suffragan of the archdiocese of Madras. Entrusted to the French Missionaries of Saint Francis de Sales of Annecy. Elevated to an archdiocese on 19 September 1953. See also,
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author