archdiocese of Durban, South Africa

Founded on 15 November 1850 as the vicariate apostolic of Natal, Natal Province, Union of South Africa, and entrusted to the Oblates of Mary Immaculate. Elevated to the archdiocese of Durban on 11 January 1951. Comprises the civil districts of Camperdown, north of the Umlaas River, (except the farms of Mariannhill, Klaarwater, Dassenhoek, Welbedag and portion of Stockville), Durban, Estcourt, Inanda, Kranskop, Lions River, Lower Tugela, Maphumulo, Umvoti, Weenen, Bergville and part of Msinga. Suffragans dioceses include, See also,
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author