[map of Panama] [flag of Panama] Republic in Central America. Missionaries were brought there by the Spanish explorers and conquerors in the 16th century. The Diocese of Panama was erected early in that century, and was at first suffragan to Lima. Under Spanish rule, Panama became a department of the Republic of Colombia until 1903, when independence was declared.

Ecclesiastically the country is governed by the diocese of and See also,
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author