(Greek: five cities)

Region where stood Sodom, Gomorrha, Segor, Adama, Seboim (Wisdom 10), which united to resist the invasion of Chodorlahomor (Genesis 14); four were destroyed; marked the south limit of Chanaanite territory, included in the lower Jordan valley and the land around the Dead Sea.

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author