diocese of Port Louis, Mauritius

Comprises the bulk of the island nation of Mauritius. Lazarist Fathers began working in Mauritius in 1722 followed by the Benedictines in 1819. Founded on 7 December 1847, and entrusted to the Fathers of the Holy Ghost, later assisted by Jesuits. Directly subject to the Holy See. See also
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author