Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples

[seal of the Congregation for the Propagation of the Faith] Founded as the Sacred Congregation de Propaganda Fide (for the Propagation of the Faith) was founded by Pope Gregory XV on 22 June 1622 to regulate ecclesiastical affairs in the so-called "missionary countries," i.e., countries in which the hierarchy is not yet, or only imperfectly, established. For most of its life it was referred to as the Congregation of Propaganda the name was changed in 1982 since the word propaganda had taken sinister overtones in the 20th century. The Congregation has its own cardinal prefect, a number of cardinals with the usual officials, and a body of consultors. It has authority over all missionary countries and their inhabitants, over societies of ecclesiastics and seminaries founded exclusively for the foreign missions, and also over religious as missionaries. It attends to everything regarding the holding and recognition of councils held in its territory. It has no competency, however, in matters of faith, marriage causes, questions of sacred rites, and over religious as such. The headquarters of the Pontifical Society for the Propagation of the Faith are in this Congregation, the secretary of the congregation being president of the superior general council of the society.

[Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples] Prefects of the Congregation:
New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author