Saint Lucia

[Saint Lucia] Island in the West Indies of about 233 square miles with a fine natural harbor at Castries. England and France fought over it throughout the 17th and early 18th centuries; ownership changed hands 14 times. It was finally ceded to the UK in 1814; self-government was granted in 1967, and independence in 1979. Christianity was introduced into Saint Lucia by the Spanish discoverers, and the first preachers of the Faith were the Dominicans who labored here until the British occupation, when the secular clergy were placed in charge. About 2/3 of the population is Roman Catholic. Ecclesiastically the island is governed by the archdiocese of Castries. See also

New Catholic Dictionary

NCD Index SQPN Contact Author